If you are going to visit Arkansas or live there then you might consider having auto insurance as it is mandated by law no different to Alaska or Alabama auto insurance requirements. Below you will see what is required by law in Arkansas and also look at what you will need to ensure that you remain within the law.
Arkansas Auto Insurance Laws
Always take advice from a registered insurance agent in Arkansas. They will normally assist you with ensuring that you are fully covered and within the law. Normally it is best to ensure that your insurance is a bit bigger then what is required by law to ensure that in the invent of an accident that your auto insurance is not meeting its requirements. The minimum required insurance is just that – the minimum.
Before you title and register your car you will need to show the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) that you have the needed insurance. Note that should you be found without insurance they do have the ability to suspend your car registration. Should this occur then you will also have to pay the reinstatement fees.
Arkansas Auto Insurance Required Coverage
Note that these are the minimum insurance coverage needed. You will also note that it is much higher than other states. The auto insurance in Alaska as well as the car insurance in Alabama are much lower than the legal requirements in Arkansas.
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000 per person
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident*
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $25,000 with a $200 deductible*
- Medical Benefits: $5,000*
- Lost Earnings: $140 per week*
- Accidental Death Benefits: $5,000 per person*
*Please note these coverage’s can be rejected in writing.
Note that these requirements require liability insurance as well as standard auto insurance. Speak to an insurance agent for assistance with this. It is always best to stay far above the minimum required by the law.
Arkansas Driver Laws
Like other laws in the US the drivers license in Arkansas is also a three stage process. Much like Alaska you can apply for a licence once you turn 14. You must pass a written and road test along with a vision exam. Once you have your Arkansas Learners License, you can drive with a licensed driver who is 21 years or older. This license will expire when you turn 16. After this you will need to obtain a Arkansas Intermediate License which is much the same and will expire when you turn 18. If you had not had any accidents for the previous 12 months then you can apply for an Arkansas Regular License.
- Alabama Car Insurance (1.000)
- Alaska Auto Insurance (1.000)
- Arizona Car Insurance (1.000)
- California Auto Insurance (1.000)
- Car Insurance in Colorado (1.000)
- Connecticut Car Insurance (1.000)