Alaska much like other states in the United States requires all vehicles on the roads to have a minimum insurance coverage in the event of an accident. You might want to check with an insurance agent as to how much insurance you will really need. The minimum is only what the state requires but most times in a major accident this is going to cover the bare minimum. Have additional insurance coverage will be good to have in the event of any major accident.
There are a number of insurance agents in Alaska who will be able to assist you and it is best to check with an insurance agent in the state as to what is normally required in the event of an accident over and above what the government mandates. You should also check the driving laws in Alaska as to the minimum age of a driver and what is allowed. Below is the minimum coverage required as per state laws in Alaska for public liability coverage. You will note that the public liability coverage is not that high compared to other states however it is always best to obtain advice and additional public liability coverage if you are a business.
There are certain insurance and public liability coverage’s that are required to drive legally in Alaska. Before you get on the road, you must have at least the following minimum coverage:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident
- Property Damage Liability: $25,000
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident*
- Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $25,000*
*Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage can be rejected in writing.
- Alabama Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- Arizona Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- Arkansas Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- California Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- Colorado Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- Connecticut Public Liability Insurance (1.000)
- Delaware Public Liability Insurance (1.000)