Taking out auto insurance in California is easy when you know what to cover for. Before you go to the DMV in California you will need to ensure that your car or truck has the proper minimum insurance coverage for the state of California. The insurance minimum and liability insurance has been added below for you to see. Note however that this is only the minimum coverage needed by law however taking extra insurance is always a good idea such as additional liability insurance as well as auto insurance that covers your hospital stay or disability after a major accident.
Always take proper advice from an insurance agent in California for assistance and advice. You dont want to be thinking of insurance coverage after a major accident. The minimum requirements are as follows:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $3,500 minimum
If you do ride-sharing while in California then you will also need to check for coverage for this. You would most probably be looking for a hybrid insurance coverage which when combining insurance policies is usually much lower than if you buy separate coverage. General Liability Insurance as well as Professional Liability Insurance and also ride sharing insurance might also need to be something that you consider and think about. This outside of the usual life and disability insurance.